Ensemble 212 Logo Ensemble 212

Yoon Jae Lee, Conductor & Artistic Director
Kyunghun Kim, Principal Associate Conductor
James Ra, 2016-17 Composer-in-Residence

Ensemble 212
2017-18 Young Artist Competition
Instrumental (Piano, Strings, Woodwinds, Brass)

Young Park, Director, Ensemble 212 Young Artist Competition
Yoon Jae Lee, Artistic Director, Ensemble 212
Kyunghun Kim, Principal Associate Conductor

Ensemble 212 wishes to congradulate Co-Grand Prize Winners violinists David Kwak and Sarah Ma. Both David Kwak and Sarah Ma will perform with Ensemble 212 on June 17, 2017 along with 2015-16 Grand Prize Winner, violinist Nathan Meltzer.

Information for the 2017-18 Young Artist Competition will be posted soon! Please check back for updates!

Objective: To showcase outstanding young instrumentalists from the greater New York metropolitan area by providing opportunities to perform as a soloist with a professional orchestra.

How to apply: Please read the complete rules and regulations and repertoire list carefuly to determine eligibility.

Submit completed application form online at Acceptd.com along with a $100 application fee by Friday April 7. Electronic media files must be uploaded by 11:59 PM Friday April 7. After all submissions have been pre-screened, results for the preliminary round will be sent by email to all applicants by Saturday, April 15, 2017.

Procedure: Up to 8 applicants will be selected for the final round which will be held on Monday, April 24, 2016 at Yamaha Artist Services Piano Salon on the 3rd floor, time TBA. The final round is open to the general public. Each applicant will be alloted 12 minutes minutes of performance time and perform all works from memory. Performances that exceed 12 minutes may be interrupted by the jury. Applicants will make provisions for his/her own accompanist and three copies of the score should be prepared for the jury. The scores will be returned after the performance.

Two overall winners of the competition (one grand prize winner and one 2nd Prize Winner) will perform with Ensemble 212 at the Season Finale & Annual Young Artist Showcase concert at Good Shpeherd-Faith Presbyterian Church in New York City on Saturday June 17, 2017. The Grand Prize winner will also be awarded a cash prize of $250. In case either winner cannot perform at the concert, an alternate selected by the jury will perform in the winners’ place. Winners of the 2016-17 competition are ineligible to compete in any other Ensemble 212 Young Artist Competition for the following 2 years. This does not apply to the alternate if he/she does not take the place of the winner. Any applicant who is unable to attend the final round for any reason will be disqualified. No make-ups are allowed. The decisions of the jury at every round of the competition are final and beyond appeal.

All applications must be submitted online via Acceptd: https://app.getacceptd.com/ensemble212

Instrumental Category: Piano, Strings, Woodwinds, Brass born on or after March 1, 1999
Preliminary Round: Submit completed application along with $100 application fee by Friday April 7. Annoucement of 8 finalists on Saturday April 15.
Final Round: Monday, April 24, 2017 at Yamaha Artist Services Piano Salon 689 5th Ave 3rd floor (entrance on E 54th St) from time TBA
Performance: Saturday, June 17, 2017 at the Good Shepherd-Faith Presbyterian Church at 8:00 PM
152 W 66th St (between Broadway & Amsterdam Ave)

Click here to view the complete repertoire list

Click here to view the Competition rules and regulations

Click here to apply at Acceptd

For more information, please contact us at competition@ensemble212.org.

Winners of the Young Artist Competition Series
David KWAK (Violin) (Co-Grand Prize)
Sarah MA (Violin) (Co-Grand Prize)
Han LEE (Violoncello) (Honorable Mention)
Coco MI (Violin) (Honorable Mention)
Nathan MELTZER (Violin) (Grand Prize)
Jessica YANG (Violin) (2nd Prize Alternate)
Ian MALONEY (Violoncello) (Honorable Mention)
William CHEN (Piano) (Co-Grand Prize)
Alyssa KIM (Violin) (Co-Grand Prize)
Mia CHEUNG (Piano) (Honorable Mention)
Dylan WU (Violoncello) (Honorable Mention)
Alice IVY-PEMBERTON (Violin)
Derek LOUIE (Violoncello) (2nd Prize Alternate)
Noah LEE (Violoncello)
Yun HAN (Violoncello) (2nd Prize Alternate)
Instrumental William McGREGOR (Contrabass)
Sydney LEE (Violoncello) (2nd Prize Alternate)
Vocal Perri SUSSMAN (Mezzo-Soprano)
Piano Yun WEI
Viola Sophia SUN
Piano Rossina GRIECO
Violin Matthew KIMURA
Violonello Sarina ZHANG
Alex CHANG (Alternate)
Matthew CURRAN
Piano Angie ZHANG
Clare YEO (Alternate)
Violin Caroline SUH
Diomedes B. SARAZA Jr. (Alternate)
Mary Elizabeth MACKENZIE